(Dome Of Doom)

Release date: Jan 22, 2016

The act of repurposing defines the creative vision of Los Angeles’ Linafornia, flipping samples from various decades of music culture into unique moments of expression. Linafornia’s debut LP creates a bridge to the foundations of gritty and soulful LA based beat music. Her career expands by the year and with a tenacious passion for lively performances, it’s with great honor she’s taken first place in the last two Beat Cinema Beat Battles. The last of which was judged by Rolling Stone, Forbes and LA Weekly writer Jeff Weiss, Brainfeeder’s Daedelus and Alpha Pup Records’ Astronautica. Her foundations and current path is planted firmly in Los Angeles’ Leimert Park, born and raised off an eclectic range of influences and inspiration found within the region's thriving community.

Constructing YUNG primarily with an SP 404 and SP 555, the record is full of infectious grooves, neck-snapping drum lines and collage style layering. Everything you hear is an arrangement of real time techniques. A balancing of sound with rhythmic soul, powerful vibratro and celestial texture. Her live shows have the same powerful energy affect as her debut and she is one of the few producers in California that deviates from utilizing laptops during performance. The sample choices on YUNG merge between her love for ‘60s / ‘70s music and growing up on the diversity of hip hop coast to coast. From The Meters and Roy Ayers to Busta Rhymes and Jayo Felony, YUNG is a true repurposing of African-American music culture, melted down and remolded to define the vision of an entirely new generation.

It is with Linafornia’s approach to hip hop instrumentals that she has slowly become more aligned with one of her biggest influences: Madlib. Raw, gritty and soulful beats that pay homage to Los Angeles and the foundational producers from the region. Visionaries such as Dibiase, Ras G, Flying Lotus and Samiyam also come to mind when thinking of Linafornia’s place in modern music. YUNG has an abundance of flavor, mastered to the rawest fidelity levels you can imagine from Dome of Doom label owner Wylie Cable. Stand out piece “Wetttt” is an organic ride into the inner workings of J Dilla, while “Xtrctions” flips Erykah Badu’s “The Cell” unlike any other producer has before. Brazilian loops to Fela Kuti flips to Lauryn Hill quotes, the music travels the globe and comes back full circle to her base in Leimert Park.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Intro (Get Ready!!!!)
  2. 2. Mafmaticbapp
  3. 3. Hi Shrimp
  4. 4. Brownies
  5. 5. Nagchampa (In the Vortex) / Beat F
  6. 6. Wussup
  7. 7. Wetttt
  8. 8. Wrdfrmjazzoh (Innerlude)
  9. 9. Dot Wav
  10. 10. Xtrctions
  11. 11. Rargroovs
  12. 12. GotchuallinCHECK!!!!