When You’re Gone – EP


Release date: Feb 7, 2012

Stuart Howard aka Lapalux has come up with something special for his first release with Cali's finest, Brainfeeder. Having made his name with his cassette-only "Many Faces Out Of Focus" and acclaimed bootlegs and remixes he returns with a seven track EP of such poise and beauty, one listen is enough to know you're onto something special.

Lapalux bathes your brain in lush textures, surprising and explosive atmospheres set in unencountered, unearthly spaces, all somehow perfectly set against catchy rolling choruses informed by pop and commercial R&B. On the "When You're Gone" EP he channels and refines his sound and shapes it into hazy, woozy emotion. Whether working with a singer like Py (on "Moments"), or deconstructing found samples and his own voice, Howard stretches, bends and warps sound to make soul - not plastic posturing but real emotion made of synthetic sound.

Track Listing

  1. 1. 102 Hours of Introductions
  2. 2. Moments
  3. 3. Gone
  4. 4. Yellow 90's
  5. 5. Construction Deconstruction
  6. 6. Gutter Glitter
  7. 7. Face Down, Eyes Shut