Ronald Bruner Jr.


(World Galaxy / Alpha Pup Records)

Release date: Mar 3, 2017

Grammy Award-winning composer, producer, singer and drummer Ronald Bruner Jr. presents the megalithic debut album Triumph. Eleven cuts of deep fusion, soul, R&B, jazz and pop, Triumph was put together with Ronald’s brothers Stephen “Thundercat” Bruner and Jameel Bruner of The Internet. It was captured during the infamous KSL Sessions that produced Kamasi Washington’s The Epic and many other West Coast Get Down recordings. Features are drawn out from an impressive list of musicians across Triumph, including the late and great George Duke, Warner Bros. recording artist Mac Miller and many of the core members of the West Coast Get Down. Thundercat laces bass guitar on a majority of the LP, building on the rhythm section with the highest degrees of finesse and technicality. It’s the expression of a soul that’s independently seasoned, rich in unique experiences and unashamedly unrestrained – the musical manifestation of a man that’s evolved into the role of a father, musical anchor and community leader.

Track Listing

  1. 1. True Story
  2. 2. Take the Time
  3. 3. She'll Never Change
  4. 4. Geome Deome
  5. 5. Whenever
  6. 6. Doesn't Matter
  7. 7. Open the Gate
  8. 8. One Night
  9. 9. Sensation
  10. 10. To You / for You
  11. 11. Chick's Web

Other releases by Ronald Bruner Jr.