King Errisson

The Magic Man / L.A. Bound

(Westbound Records Inc.)

Release date: Sep 22, 2009

The Bahamian percussionist's two sought-after albums recorded for the Westbound label. These albums have never been reissued before. The Magic Man was released in 1976. LA Bound came out in the following year.

Produced by Dennis Coffey and Mike Theodore, this is serious percussive magic, full of great proto-disco grooves with plenty of drum breaks that call out for sampling.

The voodoo-themed The Magic Man sees the team take on mixture of funky disco originals and key cover versions such as the Ohio Players' "Sleep Talk". LA Bound includes the incredible "Well, Have A Nice Day" as sampled by Roxanne Shante on her hip-hop classic of the same name.

Comes with in-depth notes and an interview with King Errisson.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Conga Man
  2. 2. The Magic Man
  3. 3. Sleep Talk
  4. 4. Back from the Dead
  5. 5. Tightrope
  6. 6. Listen to the Music
  7. 7. Last Chance to Dance
  8. 8. Disco Congo
  9. 9. Manhattan Love Song
  10. 10. Sal Soul Sister
  11. 11. Well, Have a Nice Day
  12. 12. L.A. Bound