The Breathing Effect

The Fisherman Abides

(Alpha Pup Records)

The Breathing Effect’s sophomore album The Fisherman Abides, returns with Los Angeles based Alpha Pup Records for its release across vinyl, CD, cassette, and digital platforms.

Following up the success of their debut album Mars Is A Very Bad Place For Love, The Breathing Effect's songwriting approach has become more vivid and pronounced with their new effort, offering a wider extension of their vision. Powerful harmonies and vocal cadences glide over dynamic drum grooves and bass lines, extending their personal lives into the DNA of every sound across the new works.

Capturing the entirety of The Fisherman Abides at the Cosmic Zoo recording studio in Los Angeles with renowned engineer Daddy Kev, the duo completed tracking in the span of just one week. With singer/keyboardist Eli Goss residing in Los Angeles and drummer/bassist Harry Terrell located in New York, the logistics of putting together the new album were intensified from the condensed window offered. Committing to twelve-hour sessions each day, they had the Cosmic Zoo locked down. The results of this focused effort offer a unique snapshot of the musical prowess they express with their collaborative project. It also exemplifies the tactical and complex approach when a window to capture large scale ideas is so small.

Conceptually, The Fisherman Abides began with a poem Eli Goss wrote while sitting on the Venice Beach pier on a cold day in January of 2016. As Eli began to study his environments and the many different intersecting forms of life, inspiration transferred into the written form, and the name for their new album was created.

"The title is the last line of the poem," explains Eli Goss, "which has a loose meaning. A state where one remarks on the very subtle and simple parts of life that are profound once you acknowledge them. The beauty in the intricate web of events all occurring simultaneously, waiting to be observed and admired."

This had a direct effect on the impressions they walked away with while looking at the aerial view of the album's meaning and its connection to their personal lives. "When that idea translated to lyrics and songwriting," Eli Goss adds, "it started to shift into feelings of solitude and introspection. Reflecting on your personal place in that intricate web, and watching yourself be changed by it."

The eight songs that comprise The Fisherman Abides present a multitude of genre types, blending together soul, rock, and jazz in a completely new form. A panoramic lens is offered in tone, emotion, and vibe, where one can find a sleek and propulsive moment in one instance and a magical and gentle one in the next. Truly a sound all their own, The Fisherman Abides continues the legacy of The Breathing Effect at Alpha Pup Records.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Water Static (Blinding Phoenix)
  2. 2. The Morning Swim
  3. 3. The Grove
  4. 4. Walking Backwards
  5. 5. Driftwood Dialogue
  6. 6. Josephine
  7. 7. The Pier (New Eyes)
  8. 8. The Ode