(Alpha Pup Records)

Release date: Feb 26, 2016

Brimming with offbeat beauty, Elusive’s new album Textures features a unique electronic warmth that is created with an infinity of unusual sounds. Dissected vocals and the crackle of lo-fi static permeate the release with layers of soul, a showcase for Elusive’s artful, abundant and multi-layered approach to production. With over 20 releases in his collection since the ‘90s, Elusive has personified instrumental music culture in California for two decades now. Textures comes at a creative spurt in his career and has a breakthrough sound from beginning to end.

Few producers in the beat movement can tap into complex rhythm structures and Elusive’s Textures LP goes deep into this territory over the course of the 16 tracks. Nod your head to the looping rhythm of the LP’s opening cut “Moonbeamz,” a hazy, shuffled track with a loose collection of sounds at the bottom of the beat. “Love Is Enough” skates under open skies, an elegant dream of simplicity.

“Chants to the Stars” captures the moment an ancient earth tribe meets an alien visitor, and  “Live Without U” demands attention with fast-paced drumming and a swarm of whispers. Every song has its own sub-world, connected through the diversity of his past works and the futuristic voyage he continues to embark on.

Dreamy and dense, with plenty of juice and vigor – Textures is a thoughtfully intelligent venture into the far-out realm of the modern beat music movement.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Moonbeamz
  2. 2. Love is Enough
  3. 3. Signal of Light
  4. 4. Whirlwind
  5. 5. Chants to the Stars
  6. 6. Sand Dunes on Mars
  7. 7. Simple Joys
  8. 8. Live Without U
  9. 9. Jungle Mirage
  10. 10. Morning After
  11. 11. In the Dark of Night
  12. 12. Rollin Stoned
  13. 13. Jungle Gym
  14. 14. Astral Living
  15. 15. Minor 11
  16. 16. Ice Patternz

Available merchandise