Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On

(Westbound Records Inc.)

Release date: Dec 27, 2005

Standing on the Verge of Getting released on Westbound Records In 1974. On this album, the lyrics generally take a backseat to the music and the jamming. It is one of the most popular Funkadelic albums among fans and considered an essential album for fans of lead guitarist Eddie Hazel. Hazel co-wrote all of the album's songs, and on six of those songs the songwriting credit was in the name of Grace Cook, Hazel's mother (a gambit by Hazel to avoid contractual difficulties with the publishing rights). The album is much more cohesive than the previous Funkadelic forays; it sticks with a musical style (hard-edged funk) throughout instead of veering through genres.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Red Hot Momma
  2. 2. Alice in My Fantasies
  3. 3. I'll Stay
  4. 4. Sexy Ways
  5. 5. Standing on the Verge of Getting It On
  6. 6. Jimmy's Got a Little Bit of Bitch in Him
  7. 7. Good Thoughts, Bad Thoughts
  8. 8. Vital Juices
  9. 9. Standing on the Verge of Getting It On