Various Artists

Proximity One: Narrative of a City

(Proximal Records)

Release date: Aug 10, 2010

Proximal Records is a Los Angeles-based independent record label with a mission of supporting and promoting vibrant new voices in the local electronic music community. The brainchild of L.A. natives Carl Madison Burgin, better known as Sahy Uhns, and composer/ producer Jeff Elmassian, Proximal provides a home for local artists to connect and collaborate.

Their debut release, Proximity One: Narrative of a City, takes the listener through the musical landscape of Los Angeles as they hear it. With a disregard for popularity and scene, Proximity One juxtaposes established and up-and-coming talent and the result is a cohesive and inspired record. Proximity One: Narrative of a City features L.A. staples such as DaM-FunK and Daedelus, current beat-makers such as Teebs and TOKiMonsta, and Proximal's very own Sahy Uhns, Benedek, Lawrence Grey, Wake and BearClaw. With vision, talent and a commitment to the city of Los Angeles, Proximal Records will always be a step apart and a step ahead.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Laser Forest
  2. 2. A Day at the Carnival
  3. 3. Fire Music
  4. 4. Cigarette Lust
  5. 5. Trunk
  6. 6. Creep
  7. 7. Peaches for the Baby
  8. 8. Buttabump
  9. 9. Glue Stick
  10. 10. Nine-Wing
  11. 11. Wind Loop
  12. 12. Conversations with Yesterday
  13. 13. VI
  14. 14. Robotrimpin
  15. 15. Sea Water
  16. 16. Off Angeles Edges
  17. 17. Strange Utopia
  18. 18. Chasms
  19. 19. A(nother) Day at the Carnival
  20. 20. Proximity One: Mega(re)mix