Scallops Hotel

Plain Speaking

(Ruby Yacht / The Order Label)

Release date: May 5, 2015

Plain Speaking is the lucid new release by Scallops Hotel, the candid alter ego of Chicago poet and producer Milo. A robust introduction for his new label imprint Ruby Yacht, the album blends experimental production and endearing beats with open, honest rhymes. Plain Speaking is profound yet accessible, a solid handhold to grasp onto amidst the chaos of the modern world.

Easy yet serious, lighthearted and sincere, Plain Speaking immediately draws the listener inward. The album's first single "Lavender Chunk” -- featuring Hemlock Ernst a.k.a. Samuel T. Herring of Future Islands -- leans back into a simpler time, remembered like a hazy dream. Slanting darker and submerged inside echoes, “Tense Present” flips from contemplative flow into a stream of comforting clarity. “True Nen” is a thoughtful track that breathes deeply, an offering of assurance over discord.

Plain Speaking is a remedy, the cure for the common conversation. The familial tones and straightforward flow of Scallops Hotel function like an outstretched hand. Plain Speaking never pushes; rather it invites you to sit and listen. To have hope, and to heal through art.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Gnosis, Black Nationalism, Rice
  2. 2. Sabil's Lullaby
  3. 3. Lavender Chunk
  4. 4. Ticktocker (Henry Dumas' Words)
  5. 5. Tense Present
  6. 6. Roc Marciano Riff Suite 1
  7. 7. Glottal Stop
  8. 8. Bookoo Bread Co
  9. 9. The Oprah Winfrey Show
  10. 10. True Nen
  11. 11. Birther
  12. 12. 171: Man and the Cosmos