Nothing Else


Release date: Jun 8, 2010

Nothing Else is the debut album by Lorn, the first release on Flying Lotus' Brainfeeder label since the monumental release of Cosmogramma. With his futuristic and forward-thinking imprint, Flying Lotus aims to bring together his extended family of avant-garde musicians in order to encourage and nurture the growing constructo-creative L.A. attitude. Lorn's Nothing Else, a work pounding in its own regard, is more than up to fill this heavy order.

An epic, melancholic and brutal affair, Nothing Else is a rewarding listen. From the fairground dramatics of "None An Island" and military momentum of "Army of Fear," to the discombobulated atmospherics of "Bretagne" and the off-centre melodic catchiness of "Cherry Moon," this is a record which feels like it's been hewn from stone. Taken as a whole, Nothing Else is a raw, emotional, angry, beautiful and real album. A remarkable, transcendent achievement with the FlyLo stamp-of-approval.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Grandfather
  2. 2. None an Island
  3. 3. Army of Fear
  4. 4. Bretagne
  5. 5. Automaton
  6. 6. Void I
  7. 7. Void II
  8. 8. Tomorrow
  9. 9. Glass & Silver
  10. 10. Cherry Moon
  11. 11. Greatest Silence
  12. 12. What's the Use

Other releases by Lorn