Howie Lee

Mù Chè Shān Chū

(Alpha Pup Records)

Release date: Dec 4, 2015

Alpha Pup Records presents Mù Chè Shān Chū by Howie Lee: an innovative producer, master sound curator, and ambassador from the Chinese musical underground. Born in Beijing where he lives now, Lee has lived in London, recorded in Taipei, and is now releasing his debut album on a Los Angeles label – truly a global phenomenon.

After being hit up by Snoop Lion for a remix in 2012, Lee’s “future music from Downtown Beijing” busted out of China to captivate crowds with its thoroughly unique style. His distinct approach blends local samples, traditional Chinese sounds, and inventive modern rhythms. Tracks are drenched thickly in bass and imbued with the fresh feel of youth – and often, are right at home on the dance floor.

Gripping from the very beginning, intro track “The Gate” invites you into the artist’s underground world and sets the tone for an expansive, epic journey. Syncopated beats strut through “Cloud Lamps,” and “Sinka (feat. Zhang Yang)” steps right into a thundercloud. “Bei Hai” is a riveting experiment with an alluring rhythm, a warm wash of sounds that pulls in unexpected directions.

Mù Chè Shān Chū is always in motion. Impossibly dense and lush, yet also incredibly spacious and vast – a juxtaposition that reflects China itself. From the plucked strings of the guhzeng to the butter-rich bass of the 808, Lee brings an unmistakable Far East flavor to the leading edge of modern electronic music.

Track Listing

  1. 1. The Gate
  2. 2. Cloud Lamps
  3. 3. Flame Fighters
  4. 4. Ran
  5. 5. Eyes on the Mountains!
  6. 6. Dead-Ended
  7. 7. Sinka
  8. 8. Xiang
  9. 9. White Plain
  10. 10. Dontknowers
  11. 11. Someone
  12. 12. Bei Hai
  13. 13. Shang

Available merchandise

Other releases by Howie Lee