Daddy Kev

Lost Angels – EP

(Alpha Pup Records)

Release date: May 8, 2001

Culling the depths of the Southern California underground scene, experimental beat constructionist Daddy Kev amasses some of Los Angeles' most talented and underrated voices on this all-too-brief EP. This extended play is not for all tastes, but features two certified highlights from two former members of the groundbreaking Freestyle Fellowship crew. In one of the most ostentatious displays of lyrical dexterity in recent memory, Mikah 9 instrumentalizes his voice over a seemingly endless piano scale on "First Things Last." This enigmatic track showcases an MC who, with his vocal cords, is able to precisely mimic the notes of the song's irregular piano sample. Mikah's vocals are so whispery that it will take numerous listens just to knowledge the cadence let alone the complex, abstract lyrical content. After a blustery track from Busdriver and a hilarious snippet snatched from the movie Boogie Nights, FF's P.E.A.C.E. gets deep and dark on the inspired "Walking on Water." This is a textbook freestyle that many younger MCs should study and learn from. One can readily trace the lineage of this gruff-toned MC in the more twisted antics of D12's Bizarre. Kev's naked bassline is the perfect fit for P.E.A.C.E's lyrical mindwalk.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Lost Angels
  2. 2. First Things Last
  3. 3. Blowed Anthem
  4. 4. Test Drive
  5. 5. Walking On Water
  6. 6. This Stuff's Really Wacko
  7. 7. Lick Me I'm Famous
  8. 8. Ascension

Produced by Daddy Kev