Daniel Ruane

Lakes – EP

(Proximal Records)

Release date: Sep 30, 2016

Daniel Ruane’s, Lakes EP is crafted from field recordings made during a transformative trip he took around Derwentwater, found in the Lake District National Park in northwest England. From these recordings, Ruane utilized sounds that range from the squeal of a ‘kissing gate’ to the massive thrust of the AVRO Vulcan stealth bomber's last fly-by. As a narrative complement to the field recordings, peppered throughout "Lakes" are bits and pieces of conversation between Ruane and his companions on the trip. These recordings offer context to his compositions, each track striving to capture the sensation of a memory.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Lakes
  2. 2. Shatter
  3. 3. Hill
  4. 4. Glaramara
  5. 5. Gate
  6. 6. Cut Trails
  7. 7. Shatter