Ghost Dance

(Black Box Tapes)

Release date: Jun 9, 2015

“One of the most pathetic aspects of human history is that every civilization expresses itself most pretentiously, compounds its partial and universal values most convincingly, and claims immortality for its finite existence at the very moment when the decay which leads to death has already begun...” - Reinhold Niebuhr

During the USA’s genocide of Native Americans, some of them took to the Ghost Dance, believing it would “reunite the living with spirits of the dead and bring peace, prosperity, and unity.” In the face of today’s environmental destruction, economic collapse and perpetual war, SkyRider’s Ghost Dance is inverted. It is done alone in front of a computer, twisting knobs and chopping samples for hours, if not years on end.

SkyRider has been making genre-defying instrumental epics for over 15 years. On a Hunter S. Thompson-esque vision quest through Mexico around the turn of the century, he got all fucked up in a near-death car crash, which left him in a coma for almost a month. While recovering from his catatonic state he took to making beats on a computer. Soon after he found himself living in a re-purposed bus in the Everglades, hosting environmental conferences in his yard and making electronic music by night with artists like Bleubird, Sole, and Astronautalis.

After touring the world extensively with Sole & The SkyRider Band, SkyRider moved to Los Angeles and formed an electronic group with Telephone Jim Jesus and John Wagner of SkyRider called Furious Stylez. He currently resides in Denver, Colorado, where he collaborates with a large cast of talented musicians. Ghost Dance features contributions on almost every song from long-time SkyRider collaborator William Ryan Fritch, whose latest work includes the Bon Iver associated project Death Blues as well as a host of other remixes and collaborations. After years behind the scenes, this marks SkyRider’s first major solo work, combining nearly two decades of experience and sophistication as a producer and composer.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Sent In for Repair
  2. 2. This Club
  3. 3. Rosemary
  4. 4. Smoothrider
  5. 5. City Streets
  6. 6. Now Is the Time
  7. 7. Are They Friendly
  8. 8. Who Gives
  9. 9. Evil Bells
  10. 10. Want to Go