Jared Paul

Get My Ghost

(Black Box Tapes)

Release date: Oct 9, 2015

At the forefront of underground radical art for over decade, revolutionary poet Jared Paul has toured relentlessly as a spoken word artist, emcee, and revolutionary organizer. Get My Ghost is the culmination of the last ten years of protesting, touring, and learning. This full-length album showcases Jared’s unique storytelling abilities, making it more of a rap-album-as-memoir then a heavy handed political manifesto.

Get My Ghost is produced by Sacramento engineer & multi-instrumentalist; Tommy Fox. Fox utilizes antique vinyl, analog synthesizers and one mpc to create the album's dense soundscape. The record also features poetry from nationally acclaimed Viking Press author, Karen Finneyfrock, as well as verses from Ceschi, Guante, and Sole. DoomTree legend, P.O.S., makes an appearance reenacting a scene from Henry Rollins’ seminal punk tour journal Get In The Van.

The all-star guest appearances continue with sharp cuts from DJ Pain One and a haunting collaboration with platinum artist, Raine Maida of Our Lady Peace. Black Box Tapes enlisted engineering virtuoso Skyrider to master the project, and the artwork is designed by revolutionary artist & Alien Body clothing designer; Pictureplane.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Ready as I Ever Been
  2. 2. Five or Five Thousand
  3. 3. Red Sweatshirt
  4. 4. Get My Ghost
  5. 5. $8 Smoothie
  6. 6. Palm in My Stone
  7. 7. Only Living Boy
  8. 8. Rockbiter
  9. 9. No Quits Till
  10. 10. Human Beings Migrate
  11. 11. Down with whe Bank Kings
  12. 12. Movement First