(Westbound Records Inc.)

Release date: Dec 27, 2005

Funkadelic's debut album originally released in 1970. The album showcased a strong bass and rhythm section, as well as lengthy jam sessions, future trademarks of the band. The album contains two remakes of songs from The Parliaments, an earlier band featuring George Clinton: "I Bet You" and "Good Old Music". "Mommy, What's a Funkadelic?" and "What is Soul" contained the beginnings of Funkadelic's mythology, namely that "Funkadelic" and "the Funk" are alien in origin but not dangerous. "I Got a Thing, You Got a Thing, Everybody's Got a Thing" was particularly notable for the epic guitar solo by Rare Earth's Ray Monette's. "I Bet You" was later covered by the Jackson 5 on their album ABC, and sampled by the Beastie Boys for their song "Car Thief". In more recent years The Red Hot Chili Peppers have combined the main riff of "Mommy, What's a Funkadelic?" and certain parts of the lyrics from "What Is Soul?" in live shows, a version appears as a B-Side on their 2002 single By The Way.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Mommy, What's a Funkadelic?
  2. 2. I'll Bet You
  3. 3. Music for My Mother
  4. 4. I Got a Thing, You Got a Thing, Everybody's Got a Thing
  5. 5. Good Old Music
  6. 6. Qualify and Satisfy
  7. 7. What Is Soul
  8. 8. Can't Shake It Loose
  9. 9. I'll Bet You
  10. 10. Music For My Mother
  11. 11. As Good As I Can Feel
  12. 12. Open Our Eyes
  13. 13. Quality and Satisfy
  14. 14. Music for My Mother