Forgotten Narratives

(Black Box Tapes)

Release date: Feb 27, 2016

"He was completely and openly a mess. Meanwhile the rest of us go on trying to fool each other." - Denis Johnson 

The debut album by Paperbark is a collection of songs designed to evoke those forgotten narratives. The stories that have shaped us are slowly eroding because of our obsessions with other people’s lives. Whether it's reality television, social media, politics or other numbing forces, the influences in modern culture transform us into something unrecognizable. 

Paperbark has been sculpting sounds for years using analog instruments. His studio has been a revolving door of vintage and modern synthesizers and samplers. You will rarely find him composing music in front of a computer. Instead, he prefers to interact with unique, hand built instruments that evoke moods that define his music. His views on politics, culture and life are felt in the textures he creates.

Track Listing

  1. 1. A Stones Throw Away
  2. 2. Forgotten Narratives
  3. 3. Intimate Gazing
  4. 4. Just Forget You Saw It
  5. 5. Letter as Symbols
  6. 6. Parallel Conscience
  7. 7. Past the Wooden Fence
  8. 8. Tree Verb