Austin Peralta

Endless Planets


Release date: Feb 8, 2011

Jazz influences weave throughout the Brainfeeder catalog, and the labels' artists are helping to push forward a renewed interest in the junction of the free-spirited musical genre and modern sound technology. However Brainfeeder's first release of 2011 is the first to plunge fully into the smoky, sensual and spine-tingling world of jazz: Endless Planets by Austin Peralta is a lush, fully realized musical affair of playful instrumentation and serious style.

A pianist since the age of 5, LA-native Austin Peralta has turned years of dedicated practice and bold experimentation into an album of rich composition and vibrant energy. Spiraling saxophones, sauntering percussion licks and questing piano strokes merge with soulful basslines to create a flourishing sonic garden for music lovers to explore.

Joining the young composer on Endless Planets is a smart collection of musicians including Zane Musa (alto sax), Ben Wendel (tenor and soprano), Hamilton Price (bass) and Zach Harmon (drums). Dr. Strangeloop adds his wizardly electronic manipulation throughout the album, ending with a scintillating collaboration with The Cinematic Orchestra and UK-based soul singer Heidi Vogel for the final track.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Introduction: The Lotus Flower
  2. 2. Capricornus
  3. 3. The Underwater Mountain Odyssey
  4. 4. Ode to Love
  5. 5. Interlude
  6. 6. Algiers
  7. 7. Epilogue: Renaissance Bubbles