(Dropping Gems)

Release date: Oct 28, 2014

Dropping Gems is proud to present DJAO's self-titled debut album. Three years in the making, producer/vocalist DJAO (a.k.a Alex Osuch) has created an auditory narrative in a similar manner to a collection of linked stories, stylistically diverse but based within the same world, told by a single narrator. Composed during times of personal growth and inner reflection, the material presented on DJAO takes the listener on a serene, often ethereal journey.

As a testament to navigating life's challenges and successes, the arc of the album explores the pattern of introduction, engagement, and struggle, as told through Osuch's raw emotional looking-glass. From the literal emergence of "Good Morning" to the concluding paroxysm of "Can't Make Music Forever," the album describes a path towards clarity and understanding where there are almost as many steps backwards as forwards. Appropriately, DJAO is the first release to directly showcase Osuch's vocal talents, with sung lyrics shifting from back to foreground (and back again), enveloped in delay-soaked reverb.

In assembling this album Osuch drew upon a wide range of sounds, letting electric piano, synthesizers, and deep bass tones handle most of the melodic duty. Guitar played by Zuri Birginger adds to the palette towards the end of the album. The pace of the tracks is defined by intricate & texture-heavy drum programming, which rhythmically shift from downtempo to juke/footwork-influenced sensibilities. Behind it all, a certain fuzzy haze persists throughout the collection.

All tracks written, produced, & mixed by Alexander Osuch a.k.a. DJAO. Guitar on tracks 8 and 9 by Zuri Biringer. Additional piano on track 7 by Erik Metzler. Mastered by Taylor Dupree at 12k Mastering. Photography, Design, and Layout by Ben Chaykin.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Good Morning
  2. 2. Woodgrain
  3. 3. Heavy Fog
  4. 4. Tan Jacket
  5. 5. Wet Bark
  6. 6. Laura
  7. 7. Depressing Jog Ends Well
  8. 8. Kitchen
  9. 9. Basement
  10. 10. The Last Time
  11. 11. Foreign Heart
  12. 12. Can't Make Make Music Forever (Juke Blues)