(Alpha Pup Records)

Release date: Apr 19, 2011

Bowser is a mind-wrecking glimpse into the future of beats by affable newcomer Jonwayne, a talented rapper/producer whose music has been burning up the Los Angeles underground.

A virtual dream world emerges onto a monstrous landscape of demented beats and deft harmonies. At times lighthearted, often dark and sinister, and always squeezing emotion out through its knuckles, Bowser is a nearly sample-free adaptation of the video game aesthetic that crushes skulls with the weight of its bass.

Inspired by the real sense of danger in childhood boss battles, Bowser captures the suspense of knowing that the fate of entire kingdoms may depend on the next button pressed. In such tension-filled situations the senses are heightened and attention becomes focused; this is where Bowser can be found.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Intro
  2. 2. Andrew
  3. 3. Darwing
  4. 4. Time Trial
  5. 5. Trilla G
  6. 6. Dreamland
  7. 7. Featuring Mndsgn
  8. 8. Bowser I (Sigma Head)
  9. 9. Crumbled Luna
  10. 10. Beady Bablo
  11. 11. Bowser II
  12. 12. White Specks in a Black Cloud
  13. 13. 1 for Wily
  14. 14. Mario Is Missing
  15. 15. Longest Night
  16. 16. Progstep
  17. 17. Tomato Purge
  18. 18. Be Honest
  19. 19. Outro