Bounce 4 Life

(Error Broadcast)

Release date: Dec 10, 2012

Monolithium released his debut 12" Simon & G-Funk in summer 2011 to much critical acclaim. Back then, his mixture of 808 drummings, complex track arrangement and flawless pop was an important step for Error Broadcast label to advance from the beat music continuum and found its logical extrapolation with releases by B-Ju, H-SIK, and OL most recently. After touring the US West Coast with Dabrye and a busy summer, Error Broadcast is delighted to welcome the Vancouver-based producer and DJ back with his 12" release Bounce 4 Life.

Bounce 4 Life finds Monolithium offering the perfect mixture of club-ready footwork snare rolls and low swung hip hop, a glossy get-together of pitched vocals and super-melodic synth chords. Lead single 'Bounce 4 Life' is an undestroyable hymn that DJs have been rinsing all summer long. The back-stabbing 'Lancashire Hammer' slows down dance to rap tempi, while 'Pavillionaire' (featuring Prison Garde) joins boogie with high-pitched vocal samples and sickly-sweet synthesizer arpeggios. On 'Spiral Face' and 'Sleepy Beauty', Monolithium takes a slightly more ambient and elegiac approach to tech-beats, with the former paying clever tribute to classic jungle and the later focussing on melodic sophistication a bit more.

Remixes include three very different interpretations of Bounce 4 Life. Fellow Canadian Ryan Hemsworth (Wedidit) improves the harmonic potential of the original even further, adding his own chimes and sweeps. UK producer KingThing (Infrasonics) makes Bounce 4 Life a pumping House/Hip-Hop affair that is as fresh as functional. Eventually, our own H-SIK drags the tune into this underground echo chamber to return a subtly grooving piece of ambient dub.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Bounce 4 Life
  2. 2. Lancashire Hammer
  3. 3. Pavillionaire
  4. 4. Spiral Face
  5. 5. Sleepy Beauty
  6. 6. Bounce 4 Life
  7. 7. Bounce 4 Life
  8. 8. Bounce 4 Life

Other releases by Monolithium