Bird’s Eye View

(Alpha Pup Records)

Release date: Sep 27, 2005

With influences ranging from Siouxsie & The Banshees to Tom Waits and Journey, Los Angeles-based emcee Blackbird has styles aplenty. You may know Blackbird as a member of the psychedelic hip-hop group Dark Leaf, or from his stellar vocal performance on the seminal Beneath the Surface compilation produced by Omid.

Since then, Blackbird has been documenting his journeys through L.A.'s wasteland in the form of spoken word poetry and recorded albums. His newest offering, Bird's Eye View, is a perfect amalgamation of spoken word and avant-garde beats, produced entirely by Paris Zax (known for his work with Busdriver and The Shapeshifters). Bird's Eye View peaked at #12 on the CMJ Hip-Hop Charts and received positive reviews in URB, XLR8R and OC Weekly.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Outro
  2. 2. Midnight Rider
  3. 3. Bear Witness
  4. 4. Confessions
  5. 5. No Belief
  6. 6. Hella Ride
  7. 7. Lessons
  8. 8. High Plains Drinker
  9. 9. Glamourous Drunk
  10. 10. Wild Night
  11. 11. God Complex
  12. 12. Survivor
  13. 13. Exit...

Other releases by Blackbird