Ana Caravelle & Ana Caravelle

Basic Climb

(Non Projects)

Release date: Sep 28, 2010

Basic Climb originates in the small moments, tracing its inspiration to the warm pockets of human intimacy filled with oblique love and breathless moments. But rather than cling to these fleeting snapshots, Ana Caravelle, ignites them in a flutter of strings and harmonies, creating lifetimes out of these hushed intimacies.

Composed and arranged by multi-instrumentalist Anahita Navab, who contributes harp, saw, harmonium, glockenspiel, melodica, and tap shoes, along with her engrossing vocals, Basic Climb touches on influences from Sufjan Stevens and Joanna Newsom, to Antony and Bjork. Basic Climb is Produced by acclaimed Los Angeles musician Asura, who adds his penchant for subtle ambient soundscapes and off-kilter percussion to Ana Caravelle's otherwise ornate chamber-folk movements.

Thematically Basic Climb explores the gravelly issues of freedom and comfort; the empowerment imbued from the formlessness of escape and the evenly paced breathes of close familiarity. Taking us from the "wide open fields" and "golden earth" of her song "Blackberries" to the geography of sheets and locked hands in "Anti-anxiety Pill", Ana's sweeping storytelling lies in her ability to connect these dots. By mapping these moments, Ana expands time, fills in colors not immediately apparent and leaves the listener with a broader sense of what makes up the moments that matter most.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Where Have You Been?
  2. 2. Anti-Anxiety Pill
  3. 3. Basic Climb
  4. 4. Shapeshifting
  5. 5. Black Canyon
  6. 6. Blackberries

Other releases by Ana Caravelle