400 Blows

Angel’s Trumpets and Devil’s Trombones

(Gold Standard Labs)

Release date: May 10, 2005

Los Angeles trio 400 Blows unveil their GSL full-length debut! Recorded in L.A. with Alex Newport (The Mars Volta, The Locust, At the Drive-In), the eleven-track album is a tour-de-force of minimalist, stripped-to-the-basics punk rock: rapidfire drumming, machinelike guitar and the relentless presence of vocalist Skot, whose dry wit provides great reading even with the stereo turned off. Named for an excerpted quote from Kubrick's inspirational A Clockwork Orange, the album finds 400 Blows beating a sneer-inducing path through the atonal, metallic crunch of peers like Lightning Bolt and Death From Above 1979, threaded with the loveable, nasal, California-bred vocal scuzziness that characterized the likes of Le Shok.

Track Listing

  1. 1. The Beauty of Internal Darkness
  2. 2. The Secret Life
  3. 3. Make A Wish
  4. 4. The Sore Thumb
  5. 5. The Average Guy
  6. 6. Love You to Death
  7. 7. No One Can Erase This
  8. 8. The World Was Yours
  9. 9. The Biggest Hit Yet
  10. 10. Electric Wilderness
  11. 11. Ice Forest