America Eats Its Young

(Westbound Records Inc.)

Release date: Dec 27, 2005

America Eats Its Young is a 1972 release by Funkadelic. This was the first album to include the whole of the House Guests, including Bootsy Collins, Catfish Collins, Chicken Gunnels, Rob McCollough and Kash Waddy. It also features the Plainfield based band U.S.(United Soul), which consisted of guitarist Garry Shider and bassist Cordell Mosson, on most of the tracks. Unlike previous Funkadelic albums, America Eats Its Young was recorded in Toronto, Canada, and in the UK. The original vinyl version contained a poster illustrated by Cathy Abel. The bottom of the poster features the first widespread appearance of the Funkadelic logo, which would later appear on the cover of the album "Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On. Track Listing 1. "You Hit the Nail On the Head" (George Clinton, Clarence Haskins, Bernie Worrell) 2. "If You Don't Like the Effects, Don't Produce the Cause" (Clinton, Garry Shider) 3. "Everybody Is Going To Make It This Time" (Clinton, Worrell) 4. "A Joyful Process" (Clinton, Worrell)(released as the B-side to "Loose Booty") 5. "We Hurt Too" (Clinton) 6. "Loose Booty" (Clinton, Harold Beane)(released as a single-Westbound 205) 7. "Philmore" (Bootsy Collins) 8. "I Call My Baby Pussycat" (Clinton, Billy Bass Nelson, Eddie Hazel) 9. "America Eats Its Young" (Beane, Clinton, Worrell) 10. "Biological Speculation" (Clinton, Ernie Harris) 11. "That Was My Girl" (Clinton, Sidney Barnes) 12. "Balance" (Clinton, Worrell) 13. "Miss Lucifer's Love" (Clinton, Haskins) 14. "Wake Up" (Clinton, James W. Jackson, Worrell)

Track Listing

  1. 1. You Hit the Nail On The Head
  2. 2. If You Don't Like the Effects, Don't Produce the Cause
  3. 3. Everbody Is Going to Make It This Time
  4. 4. A Joyful Process
  5. 5. We Hurt Too
  6. 6. Loose Booty
  7. 7. Philmore
  8. 8. I Call My Baby Pussycat
  9. 9. America Eats Its Young
  10. 10. Biological Speculation
  11. 11. That Was My Girl
  12. 12. Balance
  13. 13. Miss Lucifer's Love
  14. 14. Wake Up
  15. 15. Loose Booty
  16. 16. A Joyful Process