Myka 9 & Myka 9

A Work In Progress

(M9 Recordings)

Release date: Jun 10, 2003

In rap, the pioneers rarely get paid. Take Myka 9, one of the founders of hip-hop's canonical crews, Freestyle Fellowship. From their base at the Good Life Cafe, Myka and his mates drew the map for literate West Coast rap, blazing a trail to riches for groups like Jurassic 5. Unlike his former Fellowship colleague Aceyalone, who recently hit indie paydirt with the help of RJD2, Myka's had to make due without the help of the "hipsterati," producing an album with a distinctly DIY feel. While his music sounds like an exercise in minimalist anti-production, Myka's mic skills are on-point, as he floats sublimely above a didgeridoo sample on the psychedelic "Wartrybe" and spews an anti-industry screed on the micro-funky "This Ain't The Song." The rapper is defiant throughout, reveling in his sound's commercial anti-viability, like a preacher speaking only to the converted. Myka's not a missionary; he's a prophet.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Fanfare
  2. 2. Set You Free
  3. 3. Can We Smoke?
  4. 4. Picasso
  5. 5. Hibiscus Flower (A Tribute to Andy Bey)
  6. 6. D.N.B.N.M.
  7. 7. Wartnbe
  8. 8. Your Heart
  9. 9. XJ9
  10. 10. Protect the Children
  11. 11. This Ain't the Song
  12. 12. Life Is Hard
  13. 13. Pimp Gamble
  14. 14. One Dream
  15. 15. Hidden Agenda
  16. 16. Love Yourself
  17. 17. Welcome Home
  18. 18. Fry
  19. 19. Re-Construct
  20. 20. Bell Ringers