A Toothpaste Suburb

(Ruby Yacht / The Order Label)

Release date: Sep 23, 2014

Immediately engaging and endlessly entertaining, Milo’s new release A Toothpaste Suburb on Los Angeles’ Hellfyre Club is a vivid experience. With a deft mix of cerebral weight and comic wit, Milo flips his way through profound insights with ease. Every track stares back at you expectantly. Open, but never vacant. Friendly, and always inviting.

“Salladhor Saan, Smuggler” is a story that provokes with familiarity, grabbing your attention as it plunges into the album. Bright sounds shoot out of “Peanut Butter Sandwiches”, and “You Are Go(o)d to Me” resides in beauty, an unassuming blend of thoughtful rhythms and words that wink with resonance. Numerous guest artists appear on the album, lending a sense of dynamism: Busdriver, Open Mike Eagle, Scallops Hotel, Kool AD, Anderson Paak, WC TANK and Kang Min-gyu.

Spoken word poetry, vibrant beats and a search for truth collide into an appealing divergence on A Toothpaste Suburb, a work of art from a wordsmith.

Track Listing

  1. 1. Salladhor Saan, Smuggler
  2. 2. Yafet's Song
  3. 3. Peanut Butter Sandwiches
  4. 4. Sanssouci Palace
  5. 5. In Gaol
  6. 6. Thatness and Whatness
  7. 7. Fragrant Pee Farts
  8. 8. Ought Implies Can and I Cannot
  9. 9. You Are Go(o)d to Me
  10. 10. Objectifying Rabbits
  11. 11. Argyle Sox (Hellfyre 5ever)
  12. 12. Buck 65's Knee
  13. 13. Just Us (A Reprise for Robert Who Will Never Be Forgotten)
  14. 14. A Day Trip to the Nightosphere
  15. 15. MAY THE DAYS BE AIMLESS (Sorcery)
  16. 16. Gaudeamus Igitur (for Kang Min-gyu)